Leica D-Lux 109

  

Buying a camera is serious business for me. I am neither a photographer nor have much knowledge in photography. It is just something I am passionate about and have high expectations on how my pictures turn out.

Before buying a camera, I would spend days browsing the internet, watch/read reviews and test out the cameras in stores. Basically I breath, eat and dream cameras. LOL! My fiancé would sigh whenever I bring up the topic of wanting to buy a camera.

I was a big fan of Canon cameras. I owned a range of their cameras including Powershot S5IS, Powershot a2000is (which my colleague left behind in HK) and 50D. I love my 50D to death but it is bulky and heavy to travel around with. Imagine having to pack the camera and lenses inside your backpack! At that time, I already had my 50D for almost 4 years and felt like it was in the verge of breaking down. All the rubber tabs protecting the cable ports have came off and picture quality started to slowly deteriorate. I knew by then that it was time to get something new and I was certain that this time round, I have to get something more compact with photo quality almost as good as a DSLR.

Naturally, my first pick would be either the Canon EOS M range or their G series. After much research, I chanced upon Sony Cybershot RX-100 which was highly raved by multiple parties. I even contemplated about getting the Olympus Pen cameras but remembering my disastrous memory with my first Olympus camera, I decided against it. Currently at work, I am using the Olympus Tough camera and absolutely hated the quality. Thank god it’s company owned camera.

I’ve heard about Leica cameras before and how ridiculously priced they are. I also know that the brand is like the holy grail of all cameras so one day I started looking into it. I even watched a lot of youtube videos reviewing this camera – the Leica D-Lux 109. I started to feel excited but at the same time sad. I knew the price was going to be off the roof and the fiancé will definitely turn my idea down immediately.

I then found out that there is an exact clone of this camera by Panasonic. It is the Panasonic Lumix LX-1000. So I went “This is it”.

Few days after I received my bonus, I informed the fiancé to meet me at Vivo to buy the camera. He was late and so I went over to the Leica booth to have a ‘look’. I enquired the price, tested out the camera and asked the sales person for his opinion on the Leica and Panasonic camera.

I then went up to Best Denki to look at the Panasonic camera. I did the same except ask the sales person for his opinion.

By the time the fiancé came, I have pretty much decided on which camera I want to get. I just need to convince him. I brought him to the Leica booth and let the salesperson do his job to persuade my fiancé. (smart right?)

At this point of time, I guess I should inform you guys who are still reading this that the price difference between the Panasonic and Leica is by a few hundred dollars. I am not kidding. But why Leica you may ask? Firstly, it is the holy grail of all cameras. Secondly, although it is a few hundred dollars difference, Leica offers 3 years warranty as compared to the usual 1 year warranty which Panasonic and other brands offers. Thirdly, Leica is made in Germany which says a lot about the quality of the camera. Lastly, the salesperson convinced us that the picture quality is much nicer compared to Panasonic. He was right by the way.

At the time I’m writing this entry, I have used my Leica D-Lux for more than a year and there have never been a day where I regretted my decision. It was my biggest splurge in 2015. My close friends are also impressed with the quality this camera produces. To be honest, although there is an option for manual setting, my photos are mainly taken using the auto function. The camera comes with an external flash which I never bring around! The 1.7 aperture is good enough to take pictures in low light setting and there’s always the bulb mode! Only thing which I can never do perfectly is take picture of firework using the bulb mode. I can never get the setting right! LOL! Video quality on this camera is also perfect with crystal clear image!

Attached below are some pictures which I have captured with this camera. 🙂 Thanks for reading! Buying a camera is serious business for me. I am neither a photographer nor have much knowledge in photography. It is just something I am passionate about and have high expectations on how my pictures turn out.

Before buying a camera, I would spend days browsing the internet, watch/read reviews and test out the cameras in stores. Basically I breath, eat and dream cameras. LOL! My fiancé would sigh whenever I bring up the topic of wanting to buy a camera.

I was a big fan of Canon cameras. I owned a range of their cameras including Powershot S5IS, Powershot a2000is (which my colleague left behind in HK) and 50D. I love my 50D to death but it is bulky and heavy to travel around with. Imagine having to pack the camera and lenses inside your backpack! At that time, I already had my 50D for almost 4 years and felt like it was in the verge of breaking down. All the rubber tabs protecting the cable ports have came off and picture quality started to slowly deteriorate. I knew by then that it was time to get something new and I was certain that this time round, I have to get something more compact with photo quality almost as good as a DSLR.

Naturally, my first pick would be either the Canon EOS M range or their G series. After much research, I chanced upon Sony Cybershot RX-100 which was highly raved by multiple parties. I even contemplated about getting the Olympus Pen cameras but remembering my disastrous memory with my first Olympus camera, I decided against it. Currently at work, I am using the Olympus Tough camera and absolutely hated the quality. Thank god it’s company owned camera.

I’ve heard about Leica cameras before and how ridiculously priced they are. I also know that the brand is like the holy grail of all cameras so one day I started looking into it. I even watched a lot of youtube videos reviewing this camera – the Leica D-Lux 109. I started to feel excited but at the same time sad. I knew the price was going to be off the roof and the fiancé will definitely turn my idea down immediately.

I then found out that there is an exact clone of this camera by Panasonic. It is the Panasonic Lumix LX-1000. So I went “This is it”.

Few days after I received my bonus, I informed the fiancé to meet me at Vivo to buy the camera. He was late and so I went over to the Leica booth to have a ‘look’. I enquired the price, tested out the camera and asked the sales person for his opinion on the Leica and Panasonic camera.

I then went up to Best Denki to look at the Panasonic camera. I did the same except ask the sales person for his opinion.

By the time the fiancé came, I have pretty much decided on which camera I want to get. I just need to convince him. I brought him to the Leica booth and let the salesperson do his job to persuade my fiancé. (smart right?)

At this point of time, I guess I should inform you guys who are still reading this that the price difference between the Panasonic and Leica is by a few hundred dollars. I am not kidding. But why Leica you may ask? Firstly, it is the holy grail of all cameras. Secondly, although it is a few hundred dollars difference, Leica offers 3 years warranty as compared to the usual 1 year warranty which Panasonic and other brands offers. Thirdly, Leica is made in Germany which says a lot about the quality of the camera. Lastly, the salesperson convinced us that the picture quality is much nicer compared to Panasonic. He was right by the way.

At the time I’m writing this entry, I have used my Leica D-Lux for more than a year and there have never been a day where I regretted my decision. It was my biggest splurge in 2015. My close friends are also impressed with the quality this camera produces. To be honest, although there is an option for manual setting, my photos are mainly taken using the auto function. The camera comes with an external flash which I never bring around! The 1.7 aperture is good enough to take pictures in low light setting and there’s always the bulb mode! Only thing which I can never do perfectly is take picture of firework using the bulb mode. I can never get the setting right! LOL! Video quality on this camera is also perfect with crystal clear image!

Attached below are some pictures which I have captured with this camera. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

