What’s in and what’s out : Make Up Remover Edition

I thought of starting a whole series called “What’s in and what’s out” where I’d put some products to the test and see which one ends up being the better product compared to the others. I’m still uncertain of what’s next in line for me to test but for now, this is it. I’ve put four make up removers to the test. Two on the left are full face make up remover where as the other two are for the eyes and lip.

As shown in the image above, the four products are (from the left) Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Cleansing Oil, Bifesta Cleansing Lotion, Maybelline Total Clean Express Makeup Remover Eye & Lip and Bio-Essence Bio-hydra Eye & Lip Dual Makeup Remover.

On the other hand, below are the products I used to test these make up removers (Chanel Vitalumere Aqua, Mac Blusher in Band of Roses and Revlon Just Bitten Lip Stain not in picture).

____________________________________________________________

Round one, I applied eye products on my hands and tried removing them with the four removers mentioned above.

Image below shows the removers being poured onto the skin without rubbing them into the eye products.

Since Hada Labo is an oil cleanser, the product appear thicker on my skin compared to the other three products.

Image below shows the effect of rubbing the removers into the eye products using my fingers.

Hada Labo – removes the make up completely, doesn’t feel sticky nor heavy, unscented.
Bifesta – dries almost instantly after I rub them around, doesn’t feel sticky, unscented.
Maybelline – doesn’t feel sticky nor heavy on my skin, product doesn’t dry up either, unscented.
Bio-essence – slightly greasy feeling, scented.

Image below shows the after effect of wiping off the excess remover from my skin.

Hada Labo – since the product requires water, I sprayed some on the area before wiping it off with a cotton wipe. The product became white once in contact with water which made it easier to remove. As you can see from the image below, almost everything is being wiped off my skin.
Bifesta – Since the product was already almost gone, there wasn’t much left to help remove the excess make up. In the defense of this product, it actually states on the bottle that a cotton pad soaked with the product should be used which is probably why there’s plenty of make up left.
Maybelline – This product was a dream to remove. No excess and as you can see, everything was wiped off clear.
Bio-Essence – This product wasn’t effective and it left my skin with some greasy residue which made my skin uncomfortable.

Overall, for eye make up removal, I believe that Maybelline is the best choice out of all I’ve tried and right behind it would be Hada Labo followed by Bifesta. But if you’re working on a tight budget, I’d say skip on Maybelline and purchase either Hada Labo or Bifesta just so you’ll end up with a two-in-one product.

_____________________________________________________________

Next, I applied some face make up on my skin and put both Hada Labo and Bifesta to the test.

Image below showing the product being applied on the skin without rubbing.

Below shows the effect of rubbing the removers into the eye products using my fingers.

Since Hada Labo is an oil based remover, it doesn’t dry up as quickly as Bifesta and that also explains why the area with Hada Labo is much shiny compared to the area with Bifesta.

Image below shows after the product being removed with a cotton pad.

Again, I used water on the area with Hada Labo before wiping it off.

As you can see, they both did fairly well but Hada Labo did not do well on my lipstain as much as Bifesta did.

When it comes to the debate of which face make up remover works best, I’d say it’s a tie but if you want a less hassle choice, I’d go for Bifesta. I believe I should mention that when the product accidentally goes into your eyes, Hada Labo doesn’t sting but only leave your vision cloudy for a few minutes whereas Bifesta would sting slightly but bearable.

There you go! My review on which is the best eye make up remover and face make up remover. 🙂

Leave a Reply

