Urban Decay 15 Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection – Review

I could say I was one of the lucky ones who managed to get my hands on this limited edition palette. I wasn’t actually planning to get this when I dropped by Sephora last weekend, as a matter of fact, I didn’t even know that they have it here in Sephora Singapore. 

So I dropped by Sephora last weekend to restock my Soap & Glory Hand Food Lotion and chanced upon this gorgeous palette on the shelves. I’d be lying if I said that I haven’t seen the palette before but only on YouTube.

Looking at how much I love my Revlon CustomEyes Palette in No. 020 Naturally Glamourous, which has all the neutral browns, I’ve been contemplating for months whether I should get the Naked Palette that is also from Urban Decay. I looked at both palettes (yeah, both were surprisingly in stock that day!), did some swatches and in the end, I chose the Urban Decay 15 Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection Palette. 🙂Points that drew me to this palette rather than the Naked Palette are:

1) It says on the back of the box that the shadows inside are “15 NEW (as in never-seen!) shades”.
2) The “Opulent and sleek gunmetal filigree treasure chest” looks super adorable and it’s purple! Super girly! But, the amount of fingerprints that leaves on the metal cover drives me crazy. Ridiculously crazy!
3) The Naked Palette is $78 and it has 12 eyeshadows while this palette is $80 and it has 15 never-seen before eyeshadows! Which means I paid $2 more for 3 extra never-seen before eyeshadows! But of course, you don’t get the primer potion and the brush. But it’s okay right? 🙂
4) Some of the shades that are available on this palette looks almost similar to those in Naked Palette (Click here to view an entry on the comparison). But rather than getting all neutral browns, I’d also get some hint of crazy colors like Evidence, Junkshow, Tainted and Deep End!
5) Compared to Naked Palette, this palette is actually Limited Edition which means they will stop producing this palette I don’t know when whereas the Naked Palette will still be in the market for the next 5 years maybe? So ladies, grab this fast if you want them!
I love the velvety box they used to protect the metal box. It made the whole thing look more expensive! Did you also notice the crystal anagram of Urban Decay on the lid? So sheek!
The detail on the sides make the lid look super feminine and girly and sophisticated too!
Now, for the swatches. I couldn’t believe that I managed to squeeze all 15 swatches on my arms! I must have a very long arm! 🙂 I couldn’t help but go ‘ahhh’ and ‘wow’ everytime I rub a shadow on my arm. They glide on my skin like butter and they’re very pigmented! The color pay-off is amazing! I can seriously tell you that none of my drugstore eyeshadows goes on like these babies do!
The Urban Decay 15th Anniversary Eyeshadow Palette includes the following shades;-
(Shade descriptions extracted from Urban Decay’s website here)
  • Half Truth (shimmery smoky purple)
  • Blackout (darkest, most saturated black)
  • Ace (dark gunmetal shimmer)
  • M.I.A. (soft shimmery dark brown)
  • Deeper (deep shimmery golden brown)
  • Deep End (bright teal shimmer)
  • Evidence (deep metallic blue)
  • Omen (shimmery metallic bright purple w/blue shift)
  • Junkshow (bright pink w/fuchsia shift)
  • Tainted (pale matte purple with golden shimmer)
  • Chase (metallic bright bronze)
  • Flow (soft peach shimmer)
  • Vanilla (shimmery white gold)
  • Midnight 15 (oyster pearl w/silver glitter)
  • Midnight Rodeo (medium metallic brown w/silver and gold glitter)

My least favourite shade had to be Midnight Rodeo just because it’s super sheer and it has chunky glitters which falls and goes all over your face!

On the other hand, my favourites has got to be Junkshow, Omen, Evidence, Deep End, Half Truth, Deeper and Flow (for inner corner).
And if you’re interested, here’s two different looks I did using the same palette. Of course there’s other colors that you can use but here’s just an example of how vibrant the colors are!
For a more fun and daring out there look (right), I used Flow for the inner corner, Omen on the lid and a mix of Evidence and Blackout on the crease.  For a more neutral and wearable look (left), I used Flow on the inner corner, Chase on the lid and MIA on the crease. For both looks, I used my Dramatic Rich Eyeliner to line my eyes and my Fairydrops Mascara on my eyelashes. 🙂

I guess it’s safe to say that I love this palette a lot and I still get excited whenever I’m getting ready to apply make-up on my face as I’d get to choose new color combinations for the day! I hope this review of mine would be useful for you people out there and if you get your hands on them, leave in a comment too yeah?

//Psst,I’m only using the Naked Palette as a comparison and I’m not saying that it’s not good cos who knows, I might just get it too one day. 🙂
3 thoughts on “Urban Decay 15 Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection – Review

Leave a Reply

